Dr. Debdas Ray, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry Elected as a member of National Academy of Science India (NASI)

Dr. Debdas Ray, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, Shiv Nadar Institution of Eminence (Deemed to be University), has been Elected as a member of the National Academic of Science India (NASI) for his outstanding contribution to research on “Organic Triplet Energy Harvesting”. Dr. Ray is the first leading scientist in the country to introduce and develop this field.

About NASI

The National Academy of Sciences, India (initially called “The Academy of Sciences of United Provinces of Agra and Oudh”) was founded in the year 1930, with the objectives to provide a national forum for the publication of research work carried out by Indian scientists and to provide opportunities for exchange of views among them.

The Memorandum of Association was signed by seven distinguished and patriotic scientists namely Prof. Meghnad Saha, Prof. K.N. Bahl, Prof. D.R. Bhattacharya, Prof. P.C. MacMohan, Prof. A.C. Banerji, Prof. Ch. Wali Mohammad and Prof. N.R. Dhar. Of these, the Academy had the good fortune of having the continued association of Prof. N.R. Dhar until very lately when he expired on December 5, 1986 at the age of 96 years. Apart from being one of the founders of the Academy and taking continued interest in its welfare, Prof. Dhar also donated the piece of land on which the Academy building stands today.